Show Data
Grandes Concertos Virtuosos II
Grandes Concertos Virtuosos II
Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música
  • Sinfónica
  • M/6
  • 14/2305-193

    Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música
    Michael Sanderling direcção musical
    Marc Coppey violoncelo

    Francisco de Lacerda Almourol
    Edward Elgar Concerto para violoncelo e orquestra em Mi menor, op. 85
    Sergei Prokofieff Sinfonia n.º 7, em Dó sustenido maior, op. 131


    Elgar’s legacy is evident in his Cello Concerto. One of the composer’s final works is a solo meditation on early 20th century Europe, marked by the Great War. The expressiveness of the work quickly made it an audience favourite. Prokofiev’s mastery as a symphonist can be heard in his Symphony No. 7. Completed in 1952, it is an introspective piece that takes us on a recapitulation of the composer’s creative journey. Portugal is represented by Francisco de Lacerda. Almourol is a short orchestral painting of the Portuguese landscape, composed in 1926.



    Youth (<30) 50%
    Music Student/Teacher 50%
    Cartão Amigo 25%
    BPI Card 20%
    Senior (>65) 15%

    CONCERT PROGRAMME (available on the day of the concert)