Show Data
Música para a Cidade Eterna
Música para a Cidade Eterna
  • Sinfónica
  • M/6
  • A dialogue between two very different approaches to 20th century Italian composition. On the one hand, music based on a single note from Giacinto Scelsi's enigmatic universe - a note that moves with microtonal oscillations and changes in timbre and dynamics. Quattro Pezzi su una nota sola, written in 1959, is a revolutionary work that, this late afternoon, will be heard interspersed with the music of Ottorino Respighi, a lover of polyphony from other times. The author of Feste Romane, a symphonic poem dedicated to the Eternal City, elected a set of celebrations and described them through music in a piece that, as he himself explained, represents “its maximum of orchestral sonority and colour”. It is the final work of a trilogy that will be heard in this concert and that includes Fontane di Roma and Pini di Roma, musical ways of expressing the Italian city.