Show Data
Mozart e Beethoven
Mozart e Beethoven
  • Sinfónica
  • M/6
  • Leopold Hager is a legendary Austrian conductor and also Maestro Emeritus of Orquestra Sinfónica Casa da Música, to which he returns to conduct a repertoire he specialized in: Viennese Classicism. The concert begins with two contrasting works of Mozart. First, the brilliance and fervor of a symphony he wrote during his early years in Vienna, the "Haffner" Symphony, which ends with the transformation of a famous comic part of the opera The Abduction from the Seraglio into a virtuous orchestral performance. Then, the chiaroscuro of a motet written for the great castrato Venanzio Rauzzini - Exsultate Jubilate brilliantly conveys the dramaturgy of the religious text, alternating inspired melodies with virtuous coloraturas that will be interpreted by the Israeli soprano Chen Reiss. The program ends with Beethoven's First Symphony, the most classic of the nine, and the one in which the composer most clearly asserts himself as a successor of Classicism, though evidencing some traces of his revolutionary language.