Show Data
O Mandarim maravilhoso
O Mandarim maravilhoso
Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música
  • Sinfónica
  • M/6
  • 14/2310-232

    Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música

    Nuno Coelho direcção musical

    Martim Barbosa clarinete


    João Caldas nova obra para orquestra

    (estreia mundial; encomenda Casa da Música)

    Magnus Lindberg Concerto para clarinete


    Béla Bartók Suite de O Mandarim maravilhoso


    With the orchestra led by a conductor with a growing reputation, this concert presents two works from the 20th century and others from the 21st century. Premiered in 2002, Magnus Lindberg’s Clarinet Concerto is a concert work that quickly made its way into virtuoso repertoires and concert hall programmes. The young Martim Barbosa, winner of the 2nd Ibero-American Clarinet Competition, is the soloist in a work whose theatrical virtuosity, as well as the heterogeneity of its environments, has enabled it to become a contemporary point of reference. The world premiere of the orchestral work commissioned from João Caldas by Casa da Música has an underlining expectation: how will it sound, in itself and in the way it contrasts with Lindberg’s piece. The choreographic sensuality posed problems for the ballet The Miraculous Mandarin, a modernist filigree, with its suite format enhancing Bartók’s name.



    Youth (<30) 50%
    Music Student/Teacher 50%
    Cartão Amigo 25%
    BPI Card 20%
    Senior (>65) 15%

    CONCERT PROGRAMME (available on the day of the concert)