Show Data
Requiem secular
Requiem secular
Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música
  • Sinfónica
  • M/6
  • 14/2305-204

    Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música
    Baldur Brönnimann direcção musical
    Jonathan Ayerst piano
    Marco Blaauw trompete

    Hans Werner Henze Requiem (estreia em Portugal)


    There are nine Sacred Concertos that, all together, constitute a Requiem without voices or text. Hans Werner Henze’s work was written between 1991 and 1993 and was originally commissioned by the London Sinfonietta. And so was born a Requiem which, according to the composer, was intended to be “secular and multicultural, a gesture of brotherly love for all those who lose their lives too soon”. Henze, a German composer, left an extensive oeuvre of very different works, and was influenced by such diverse sources as the work of Stravinsky, Italian, Arab and jazz music. For this performance of the Requiem, the pianist will be Jonathan Ayerst and the trumpetist the mythical Marco Blaauw.



    Youth (<30) 50%
    Music Student/Teacher 50%
    Cartão Amigo 25%
    BPI Card 20%
    Senior (>65) 15%

    CONCERT PROGRAMME (available on the day of the concert)