Show Data
Variações Sobre Tchaikovski
Variações Sobre Tchaikovski
Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música
  • Sinfónica
  • M/6
  • Orquestra Sinfónica continues the presentation of the Complete Symphonies of Tchaikovsky, this time under the direction of the Venezuelan conductor Carlos Izcaray, winner of the Aspen and Toscanini competitions. Mature and sophisticated, Symphony No. 4 represents the beginning of a new phase in which the composer’s personality is haunted by the idea of fate. Mozart’s famous Divertimento opens this concert, which includes a leap to more recent times with a piece by the Estonian Arvo Pärt that is already considered a classic. Fratres is, however, also a leap into the past, recovering polyphonic forms and harmonies of early music impregnated by Gregorian chant.