Show Data
Violoncelo Russo
Violoncelo Russo
  • Sinfónica
  • M/6
  • When Mstislav Rostropovitch wanted to ask Chostakovitch to write a piece for him, he was told without hesitation: “If you want Dmitri to write something for you, there is only one way to do it: never talk to him about it!” The strategy worked as soon as the celebrated cellist began to spread this hidden desire in informal circuits. Chostakovitch’s motivation to write the piece was even stronger after he heard the musician perform as a soloist in Prokofieff's Symphony-Concerto. Together with the illustrious contemporary cellist, Marc Coppey, Orquestra Sinfónica continues the cycle of Great Cello Concertos, revealing yet another fundamental work of this instrument's repertoire. The program is complete with Prokofieff's revisiting the past in his First Symphony and also with one of the compositions that Haydn presented to the French court on one of his trips to Paris.